Ballon d’Or 2019 Shortlist LIVE: List of 30 Players Nominated

  • Liverpool lead with number of players nominations, seconded by Manchester City and Barcelona.
  • The final winner will be announced in December during the award ceremony.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Virgil van Dijk are among the 30 players to have been named on the shortlist for this year’s Ballon d’Or by France Football.

The trio were the top three in voting for Fifa’s The Best award earlier this year, with Liverpool defender van Dijk taking the prize after helping the Reds to Champions League glory.

Ronaldo and Messi currently share the record for most Ballon d’Or wins with five, and are looking to take the lead outright after winning domestic league titles with Juventus and Barcelona respectively, while Ronaldo also led Portugal to victory in the Uefa Nations League.

Van Dijk was joined by a host of his Champions League-winning teammates as Liverpool had seven players nominated, more than any other club. Front three Mo Salah, Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane all made the list, along with Dutch midfielder Georginio Wijnaldum, goalkeeper Alisson, and Trent Alexander-Arnold, who was one of two English players nominated.

The other was Raheem Sterling, who headed a six-strong contingent from domestic treble-winners Man City, including Sergio Aguero, Riyad Mahrez, Bernardo Silva, Kevin De Bruyne and Ederson.

Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Spurs pair Hugo Lloris and Son Heung-Min completed the list of current Premier League players in the mix, though former Chelsea winger Eden Hazard, who joined Real Madrid in the summer, was also nominated, but there was no place for England captain Harry Kane.

Four players involved in Ajax’s superb run to the Champions League semi-finals earned nomination, with Dusan Tadic and Donny van de Beek joined by Matthjis de Ligt and Frenkie de Jong, now at Juventus and Barcelona, respectively.

The nominees in full:

1.Sergio Aguero – Man City
2.Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
3.Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Arsenal
4.Alisson Becker – Liverpool
5.Karim Benzema – Real Madrid
6.Keviin De Bruyne – Man City
7.Frenkie de Jong – Barcelona
8.Matthjis de Ligt – Juventus
9.Joao Felix – Atletico Madrid
10.Roberto Fimino – Liverpool
11.Antoine Griezmann – Barcelona
12.Eden Hazard – Real Madrid
13.Kalidou Koulibaly – Napoli
14.Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich
15.Hugo Lloris – Tottenham
16.Riyad Mahrez – Man City
17.Sadio Mane – Liverpool
18.Marquinhos – PSG
19.Kylian Mbappe – PSG
20.Lionel Messi – Barcelona
21.Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus
22.Mohamed Salah – Liverpool
23.Bernardo Silva – Man City
24.Heung-min Son – Tottenham
25.Raheem Sterling – Man City
26.Dusan Tadic – Ajax
27.Marc-Andre Ter Stegen – Barcelona
28.Donny van de Beek – Ajax
29.Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool
30.Georginio Wijnaldum – Liverpool